Savor the moment. Always.

Backdrop: Spending what felt like hours trying to get Student to pick an adult he knows to address a letter for a practice reference request.

Me (frustrated): Just pick a teacher!

Student (equally frustrated): I don’t know who to pick!

Me: Do you want to just write it to me?

Student: I don’t know.

Me: What about Mr. X?

Student: I don’t know.

Me: You could make up a name, it doesn’t matter…

Student (uninterested): Whatever.

Me: (sighing, putting my head on the table)

Me (after a few minutes of wait time – for me!): Well, who’s your favorite teacher?

Student (whispering): You are.

Me (grinning): Can I get that in writing??

Student: Nope.

Fast forward to the end of the assignment…

Me: So, who’s your favorite teacher?

Student: Nobody.

Me: Should’ve savored the moment while it lasted, eh?

Student (small smile): Yup.

Leave a Reply

