20 Fictional Characters…

http://101books.net/2014/03/14/20-fictional-characters-id-have-a-beer-with/

I found this blog and immediately wanted to make my own list, 20 fictional characters I’d want to meet and have a drink with:

Edward Rochester from Jane Eyre.  I’ve been in love with him for almost 20 years, I deserve to have at least one drink with him… probably a Flirtini!

Helen Graham/Helen Lawrence Huntington from The Tenant of Wildfell Hall.  I think this would have been The Book for me if I hadn’t read Jane Eyre first and at such an impressionable age. Helen is such a strong and enigmatic figure, more the heroine than Jane Eyre ever was (shocking confession on my part, I know).  I think she’d have a lot of sage advice to pass on over a nice cuppa tea.

Aragorn from The Lord of the Rings Trilogy.  I’m sure he’d shut me down just like he (gently) rejected Eowyn in the movie version of “The Two Towers,” but I ain’t no chicken and maybe some mead will give me some good old Dutch (Elvin?) courage.  Oh, and I would not be upset if Eomer decided to join us…

Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes.  I’d like to meet him from any of his stories, but if I got to choose a specific time it would be right after “The Hound of the Baskervilles” case; he was young then and perhaps slightly more verbose than how Jeremy Brett portrayed him.  To be honest, if he looked or acted like Benedict Cumberbatch, I would not be disappointed.  We’d drink sherry because I’ve never tried it, even though it seems more Mycroft’s type of drink.

Jim Moriarty.  Yes, Jim, not Professor.  I will be disappointed if he doesn’t look and sound like Andrew Scott, but as long as the intensity and mood swings are the same it’ll be worth it.  His eyes are so expressive (and spooky).  I think I’d insist on something innocuous to drink, though, as more of a way of maintaining control of the situation.  Espresso, perhaps, or maybe some tea.  Caffeinated, of course, must stay alert to catch all the nuances and clues.

Sirius Black from the Harry Potter books.  I actually think he was probably a big jerk, but he’s heavily tattooed and reeks of backstory just begging to be told.  And he will tell me! It will be quite revelatory and I’m sure we’ll drink something stronger than butterbeer, though that is where I’ll start.

Shakespeare’s Hamlet.  I think I’d want to have a series of conversations with him beginning before the play begins and then throughout his decision making process as he tries to set up his uncle.  I’m not saying he’ll be honest with me, but I am staying that it will be thrilling to hear what he has to say.  It would be a challenge for me, to see if I can tell if and/or when he’s crazy… I don’t know what we’ll drink, but I will be extra careful about who serves it!

Clancy from “The Man from Snowy River.” The poem, the movie – fantastic story.  I had a huge crush on Jim when I was a teenager, but Clancy is larger than life… and who doesn’t want to talk to a true cowboy (especially if he has an Australian accent)?  Campfire coffee sounds delightful.

Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot.  I think I’ll find him irritating (not as much as Miss Marple), but listening to him talk about his cases, especially the mysterious ones during WW1, over a few tisanes would be worth his grating foibles.

Captain Wentworth from Persuasion.  We get hints at his inner workings, but I would love to sit with him (and maybe his poet friend, too) and work through his anger and love toward Anne (and more pointedly, Lady Russell).  He’s a sailor so I’m sure he’s no stranger to rum and grog and all those delightful beverages; however, he’s a consummate gentleman, too… I’d be glad to chat over whatever drink he wants… I’ve wanted to try a Regency punch for ages (even though they usually get horrid reviews in the literature) so my fingers are crossed for that!

The Phantom from The Phantom of the Opera, bonus if he sounds like Gerard Butler, but that’s not a deal breaker.  Just thinking about all the history he knows, all the stories he’d share while we’re enjoying some champagne and maybe some cheeses (good golly I love cheese!).

Jim Hawkins from Treasure Island. I want to meet him when he’s an old man, still good and moral, but old enough not to be so black and white about issues.  I wonder how he’d change his story, given the chance… and I want to find out over a pint (or two).

Billy Bones from Treasure Island. He is such a colorful character and yet we only know how he dies—I’d love to have some rum with him, but I think I’d want to make sure it was at a public place… I wonder if he’d be completely honest with me about Captain Flint or Long John Silver?

Jean Valjean from Les Miserables.  He has been one of my favorite characters since I was kid when we used to watch the Anthony Perkins-as-Javert version. He’s so strong and passionate and principled; I think that anything he’d have to say to me would be solid gold, whether it’s over a beer or a cider or a nice glass of (dessert) wine.

Mr. Craven from The Secret Garden.  I don’t know why, but I’ve always liked him, even though he comes off as rather pathetic in the movie version (the one with Maggie Smith).  Anyone who loves as deeply as he did is worth at least one conversation!  I would imagine his tastes run more toward cognac (something else I’ve always wanted to try) but I’d be happy with a tea, too.

Miss Josephine Barry from Anne of Green Gables.  Obviously we’d drink some of Marrilla’s cherry cordial.  I’d want to know more about her life as a young woman.  I want details, primary source stuff about what the world was like for women in the Victorian era… she is so strong willed, I’m sure I’d learn just as much about myself as I would about her before we parted ways.

Westley from “The Princess Bride.” I want to know more about his Dread Pirate Roberts adventures, I’m sure they’d flow freely over some grog (sounds disgusting, but I’ve always wanted to try at least a sip).  I’d also want to know what made him choose Buttercup (very pretty, but kind of ditzy, doncha think??)

Matthew Cuthbert from Anne of Green Gables.  We’d have a beer (don’t tell Marilla) and talk about his childhood.  He and his sister seem so different, I’d want his take on life in general, but specifically concerning Green Gables.  I’d want his “story” and what makes him happy and if he regretted being too shy to fall in love (if that’s even true).  I’d want to see what he had to say about his sister’s decision to reject John Blythe.

Marilla Cuthbert from Anne of Green Gables.  I’m sure we’d have cordial, too.  She’s another one that I’d like to talk to at various points in her life: first when she was a child (what were her parents like? How did Matthew and she get so close, and yet so different?), then when she is in love with and courting John Blythe, and then after they “break up” and finally as an older woman, with all the perspective that goes with age.  I think she and Josephine Barry have a lot in common and it would be a hoot to visit with them both!

John Blythe from Anne of Green Gables.  I’d love to meet his son, Gilbert, since I had a total crush on him for most of my childhood, but John’s story has always fascinated me and I’ve always wanted to know all sides of the Marilla-John love me/hate me relationship…. Don’t care what we drink as long has he opens up!

One thought on “20 Fictional Characters…

  1. Pingback: The Crumpett Files | 5 Fictionalized Historic Characters…

Leave a Reply

