Excerpt from a textbook

“Step 1: At the beginning of the tutoring session, get the folder of tutor materials.
Step 2: Sit directly opposite and facing the tutee.
Step 3: Ensure that the tutor materials include record sheets, flash cards, blank cards, and pencils.
Step 4: Ask whether the tutee is ready to begin.”

There’s more steps and I’m sure they’d be valuable in my classroom; however, I want to take a moment to celebrate. I just learned a new word!

I never knew it was a homophone; previously, I always used it within the context of “He who smelt it, dealt it.” Yeah, I don’t think I want to really be sitting directly opposite and facing the ‘tootee.’

Leave a Reply

