Generous Genies

The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Generous Genies

Remember those lovely genies who grant wishes? Well, you’re one and you’ve just been emancipated from your restrictive lamp. You can give your three wishes to whomever you want. Who do you give your three wishes to, and why?

I think that, if I were an emancipated genie and I could give three wishes to whomever I wanted, I would choose one of my students.  At first I thought that I would gift them to a member of my family, but then I realized that they are gifted with resources and skills to take care of themselves and gain what they want without magical intervention.  Several students come to mind, actually, and it pains me to have to choose (hypothetically, even)… but I have to choose one young lady who had a baby back in September, aged out of foster care shortly after, and just graduated from high school.  She has no family (except her boyfriend), is extremely smart and gifted, just lacks self-confidence as well as resources and supports to achieve her life long goal of owning her own bakery.  I wish that I had three wishes to give to her; I know that she would spend them well.

2 thoughts on “Generous Genies

  1. Pingback: The Crumpett Files | Those who graduated and those who didn’t

  2. Pingback: A Fabulous Diva Formerly Known as Genie | TyroCharm

Leave a Reply

