One Old Cougar

Me (talking about the book we’re reading): OK class, so do you think everyone knows Eric likes Jody?

Class (looking at me like, why should they?): Dunno, Miss.

Me: Well, when I was in school, that stuff got around. If you liked someone then pretty soon everyone knew.

Class: No one kept secrets?

Me (with a small smile): Well, I did go to school back in the dark ages, 150 years ago. Things might be different now?

Student: 150 years ago?

Me (with a big grin): Yeah, I’m looking pretty good for my age!

Student: Miss, you are one old cougar.

Class: (loud, slightly awkward laughter)

Me (after rolling my eyes): Oh boy do I love teaching…

Leave a Reply

