Why we should give a damn about Victor Fleming

If you know me, then you have heard of my enduring love of Old Hollywood. I’ll read anything about the film industry from its beginning in the late 1800s through the fifties (later if it has to do with Marlon Brando, James Garner, and Dennis Hopper). I love reading biographies, huge pictorial histories histories of eras, films, stars, and behind-the-scenes exposés. A biography of Paul Newman is in front of me as we speak.

Anyway, I was reading up on “things you didn’t know about The Wizard of Oz (1939)” and came across a familiar name, Victor Fleming. I couldn’t place him at first (initially got him confused with Victor McLaglen, I’m so silly) but then remembered he’d also directed “Gone with the Wind (1939).”

Since we’ve established that you know me, then I bet you can guess what I did next: yep, I googled the ever-loving-crap out of both films, the directors, actors, and (duh!) ordered his “excellent, scrupulously researched” biography from the library.

Enjoy the article below, I certainly did!

Click on the picture for full article.
Click on the picture for full article.
Leave a Reply

