A year ago today…

In honor of the first week of school, I thought I’d share something that happened to me last year.  I was teaching a Learning Lab class and Steve was stuck with me all day because his college classes didn’t start for another week. Below is exactly what I journaled when I got home that afternoon:

I had a proud moment this morning. It promptly fell flat in a fit of laughter, but it was nice while it lasted!

Let me ‘splain. No, there is too much. Let me sum up.

I decided to put one of my seniors on the spot. I’m so proud of him, he worked very hard to recover two years of credits in one school year, he stayed after school almost every day… Now he’s taking college classes. Never been prouder. Seriously.

I didn’t prepare him, but it seemed like a brilliant idea to point to him as an example of what underclassmen need to work toward. The class was enthralled, listening. It was beautiful.

Then I asked him, “So – how did you make it work? Was it hard and frustrating at times?” totally expecting him to, you know, answer honestly.

My bad.

“I didn’t do nothing. I slept through my classes. It was easy. The end.”

I don’t know which was funnier: the pleased smile on his face or that I managed to laugh, snort, roll my eyes, hang my head and slap my forehead all at the same time.

Happy first day!

One thought on “A year ago today…

Leave a Reply

