Find a different word

I found this image on Facebook and read the full article.  It is excellent!  I don’t hear the r-word as often as I used to, which is excellent, but it’s still out there.

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 7.45.37 PM

I remember when it first became popular and my siblings and I used it at home for the first time.  My dad was pissed!  I distinctly remember him sitting us down and explaining that it was a mean word, a vicious word, never to be used as an insult.  It is derogatory and demeans a fellow human being.  He told us to never use it, especially when it could be overheard by others.

Why, I remember us asking.  Because, he said, you never know who’s listening – what if a bystander is or has a loved one with special needs?  How would that make them feel?

I don’t remember the rest of the conversation, but that statement has stuck with me since. It’s influenced my teaching and has snuck into every conversation or lecture that I’ve ever had over the n-word, the f-word, the b-word, and of course, the r-word.

Be the change!

Leave a Reply

