Pick Up

Student (showing me an address): Miss, do you know this city?

Me: Well, I’ve been there a few times.

Student: Oh. (Pause) Will you go there to pick up my phone if I buy it off Craig’s List?

Me: (Taken aback)

Student: (Quickly says) I’ll give you money for it.

Me: Since when did I become a relative?

Student: (Shrugs) Well, you know…

Me: (Smiling) You know, I might have considered it if you didn’t just take 40 minutes to complete 3 math problems!

Student: (Laughing) Miss!! You’re worser than my mother!

Me: (Grinning) I know, I know…

 

Leave a Reply

