The best advice

Student: I mean, I think it’s bad and everything but I want to do it. Can I write about it?

Me: What do you think?

Student: But I want to hunt lions and tigers with a bow and arrow and attack one with a knife and skin one and wear the hide.

Another teacher: You’ll be covered in blood.

Student: I don’t care.

Me: Here’s the deal. You can write about wanting to hunt endangered animals, but I recommend that you also state that you will not engage in this activity because it involves a consequence of prison time.

Student: But, but…!

Me: Nope, no buts. Again, I’m advising you to not put into writing any illegal activity that you plan or want to do. If you’re planning to do these activities, please plan to spend some time in jail or prison.

Leave a Reply

