You can still have children

Right before lunch, there was a commotion right outside my classroom. I stepped outside to investigate just in time to see one young man back hand his friend’s crotch.

The friend (one of my students) went down to one knee, to the joy of the crowd that had formed, but was clearly not really hurt. It was so not what I was expecting to see, so I had to smother a smile.

As I am composing myself, my student managed to stand up and started to go after his friend, I stepped between them and he stepped around me. He then pointed his finger at his friend and growled, “If someday I cannot have babies, I will come after you.”

I looked at him and said without a trace of a smile, “He did not hit you hard enough to prevent you from having children; please return to class.”

 

Leave a Reply

