By Heart

The Daily Post PromptYou’re asked to recite a poem (or song lyrics) from memory — what’s the first one that comes to mind? Does it have a special meaning, or is there another reason it has stayed, intact, in your mind?

The first poem that comes to mind is actually a section from Lamentations 3, verses 19-25.

Remember my affliction and my wandering, the wormwood and bitterness.
Surely my soul remembers
And is bowed down within me.
This I recall to my mind,
Therefore I have hope.
The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
“Therefore I have hope in Him.”
The Lord is good to those who wait for Him,
To the person who seeks Him.

This has a very special meaning to me; for several years, it was my mantra and a constant source of comfort to me after I lost everything.  It felt good to acknowledge the pain and anger and lean on the promise that no matter how long I wandered in affliction, God’s faithfulness is eternal. There is always, always hope.

One thought on “By Heart

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Hot Little Biscuit” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

