The Punch

Student: Miss, what would happen if I punched you?

Me (thoughtful): Well, did you knock me out?

Student (taken aback): Um, yeah.

Me: Then I’d be passed out for awhile and I hope that someone else would call the office or security.

Student (nodding): … but what if I didn’t knock you out?

Me: Hmmm, are you only punching me?

Student (considering): Yes.

Me: Well, I’d try to get away and make sure you don’t punch anyone else. Then I would either hit the emergency button or go next door to contact security.

Student (nodding again): But what if you can’t do that?

Me (with a smile): Sweetie, I’m not going to punch you back.

Student (disappointed): Oh.

Leave a Reply

