Riding the wave

Student (very excited): Miss! Miss! I went to my morning class today!
Me: Congratulations. There’s five days left of the class and you’re finally going to your 1st block.

(The very next day)

Teacher: Mrs. Crumpett, you need to read this (he hands me an attendance contract).
Student (won’t make eye contact with me)
Teacher: She showed up to my class at noon today.
Me (eyebrows raised, to student): You didn’t arrive to school until noon?
Student (still no eye contact, only nods)
Me: I see we’re only briefly riding the I’m-going-to-my-1st-block-class wave, then…

Leave a Reply

