The Non-Negotiables

We’re in the hallway near the Main Office. Student arrives to school 40 minutes late.

Me (looking at my watch): So glad you could make it to school, dude!

Student: Yeah, whatever, Miss… (turns to talk with his girlfriend).

Me (hiding a modicum of frustration behind a big grin): I know you’re only a LITTLE late and they probably haven’t started anything IMPORTANT, but doncha think you should go to CLASS?!

Student: Miss, you’re disturbing my conversation. It’s not your job to disturb my conversation.

Me: Excuse me, but I assure you that it IS in my contract. In very plain language it states, “Mrs. Crumpett is to disturb student conversations. This is a non-negotiable.”

Student: (can only stare)

 

Leave a Reply

