Carded

{Students 1 and 3 and two others just finished serenading me with some 90’s pop ballad as I was sitting in my friend’s English class. It’s important to understand that I barely know Student 1 and have no idea who Student 2 and 3 are, having never met them before lol}

Student 1: This is {Student 2}. She doesn’t think she’s white.
Student 2: Yeah, I’m not white, I’m black.
Me: Cool, I’m not white either.
Student 1 (confused): Oh. Then what are you?
Me: I’m black, too.
Student 1: That’s cool, we accept you.
Student 2 (pretending to fish through her pocket) Here, I have a spare Black Card you can have (pretends to hand it to me).
Me (pretending to accept it and put it in my pocket): Thanks!
Student 2 (walks away)
Student 3 (looks at me like ‘wtf?!’): That don’t make no kinda sense…
Me: Yeah, I don’t know what’s happening (haha). I’m just going to laugh and roll with it!
Student 3 (understanding nod)

Leave a Reply

